Skip to content

SS : The Spice Of Life Part 4

May 15, 2012











As she stared into Arnav’s eyes, the only thought that was stupidly plaguing her was…”Nothing can stop us being together?? what is he saying!? Who’s trying to stop us!?”

As she continued to ponder this, she heard Buaji yell out for her…

Arnav grinned and said, “Go…I’m not going anywhere…”

Khushi quickly edged away and hurried out…



Buaji saw Khushi and hugged her tight…”Bua…Buaji, I can’t breathe!”

“Sorry…I love you…and I want you to be happy…but please…please tread carefully…I don’t want you hurt because of him again…Don’t give your trust away to easily Khushi…please…”

Khushi’s smiled faded…”But…He’s…he is trying…”

“I don’t care! I can’t see you go through that type of emotional trauma again!”

Buaji was almost crying herself as she walked away…

Arnav was standing by Khushi’s window looking out, remembering New Years Eve when they saw each others face at midnight…

He looked up the second Khushi came in…

Her expression was completely the opposite of what it was before…

“I… I don’t think I can be a part of your life anymore Arnavji…With all that’s happened…and I…I’ve been nothing but trouble for you, and I’ll never change…I mean, look at what just happened with me climbing that stupid tree…”

He stood very still, and only the tensing of his jaw betrayed his conflict.

“You’ve never been trouble for me, and my God, I don’t want you to change,” he said, tilting her chin so that she had to look up at him.

Khushi shook her head…”I…I think you should go…”

“Before I go, I want to give you something.”

He pulled her so close that she found it hard to breathe, and then his mouth crushed hers with fierce possessiveness, dominating, demanding, taking charge in a kiss that ripped away barriers.

Khushi clung to him, feeling boneless and lightheaded as the embrace transported her into a starburst world of yearning flesh and heated passions.

He pulled her hips against his as his tongue took her mouth with quick, explosive thrusts.

Her legs would hardly support her weight when he finally released her.

“Tell me again that you can’t be a part of my life anymore,” he said.

Her voice shook as she tried to turn the situation around. “Let’s just…just say that was a…a kiss to last a lifetime…”

“No Khushi… A kiss to begin a lifetime.”

Arnav’s eyes darkened...“Goodbye… for now…”

……..

That night…

He paced the floor…

She punched her pillow until it was limp.

Finally she got out of her bed…

As he crawled into his…

She stared out the window…

He tossed about until his sheet was so tangled he thought he’d have to cut his way out with scissors…

He snapped on his light and tried to read…

She cut hers off and tried to sleep….

Finally they both gave up and sat on their beds, staring out their windows…


As the minutes rolled by, they both began to recline…slowly drifting to sleep…

Arnav dreaming of the “if onlys…”

Khushi dreaming of the “what ifs…”

………………..


“I am going with you…” Buaji said firmly…

“Buaji, Arnavji is at work…Jiji told me that it is just her at home today…and laxshmiji…” she grinned…

“I don’t want you to stay long…”

“I won’t…remember that I’m able to take care of myself!” Khushi snapped…

Buaji grabbed her earlobe…”Don’t get smart with me! You know I’m only trying to protect you…”

Khushi stopped moving as Buaji released her ear…”I know…and I love you for it…”


…………………


“Khushi!!!” Payal beamed with joy…

“Jiji…I’ve missed you so…”

After a squeezing embrace, Khushi anxiously asked her sister…

“Jiji, is…is anyone…”


Payal shook her head…”It’s just us…come! Lets sit and talk, and cook and have tea!” She grabbed Khushi’s arm and led her away…

As Khushi looked around, memories flooded back to her…

Her marriage, her heartbreak, weddings, breakups, breakdowns, anger, laughter…


Payal’s voice was being drowned out by Khushi’s thoughts…

“Here Khushi…” Payal said as she passed some milk…

Khushi mindlessly reached for it, knocking it over and spilling it all over herself, successfully drenching her salwar…

She let out a small yelp and Payal quickly grabbed a towel…

“Khushi…what’s wrong? are you okay? It’s almost like you haven’t heard a word I’m saying!”

Khushi looked down at her dripping clothes…”I haven’t Jiji…”

Payal gently hit her on her forehead…”You didn’t have to openly admit it…Here, go up to my room…you can borrow one of my sari’s…I don’t mind what one…go…”

Khushi aimlessly wandered away…

Payal looked on starting to realize what was happening…

…………….


Khushi wandered up the stairs…

Her thoughts were back to where they were a 6 months ago…

Instead of walking to Payal’s room, she walked to Arnav’s.

Dazed, she meandered towards his closet…

She pulled out one of his white shirts…

Laying it out on the bed, she shedded her wet clothes and slid on her husband’s shirt…

Hugging herself, she lifted the sleeve to breathe in his familiar scent…

A loud slam jerked her to attention…

Looking at where she was and what she was wearing horrified her…

“What the!? What have I done!?”

She nervously looked up hearing footsteps nearing the room…

“He’s here…He’s…He’s going to be so mad…”

As soon as she saw his figure approaching, she sprinted towards the curtains to hide…

………………

Arnav arrived back at the RM feeling furious…

He had forgotten an important file…

He marched up the stairs just wanting time to pass faster so he could finish at the office and go to see his wife…

“I just need to see her…” he thought as he walked into his room…

And as soon as he entered, he saw someone run across the room and hide behind the curtain…

“Khushi?” he thought…

He slowly closed in on her, and pulled the curtain aside revealing his trembling wife, wearing his shirt, shaking with fear, with her eyes locked tight…

His brow furrowed and his lips quirked into a lopsided smile…

Planting his palms firmly on the window behind her, fencing her in, he whispered…”Khushi…”

Her eyes sprung open and what she saw blew her away…

No anger.

No fury.

No rage.

He was expectantly and lovingly admiring her…

“Why so scared…?”

His hands moved slowly up her arms, savoring the feel of her.

His grip was gentle on her shoulders but his gaze was fierce.

“It seems you still don’t know how to wear a shirt properly…”

She cringed slightly, and gnawed on her lower lip as his hands tugged at the collar of the shirt…

His hands shook as he buttoned up the shirt, starting dangerously close to her chest…

He was certain that he deserved some type of medal for this act of chivalry.

As his hands moved against her, she fought the waves of passion that threatened to explode…

She felt as if she were seeing everything through a magnifying glass—the part in his hair, each tiny stubble of his beard, the dark lashes covering his deep eyes.

His face was so close that his breath warmed her sensitive skin.

“Khushi…” he whispered…

Her eyes fluttered up to stare at him…her worry was evident in her voice…“I…I’m only wearing this because I spilt…”

“I don’t care…”

“I…I wasn’t supposed to…to come in here…”

“yes you were…”

“I don’t know…how I ended up here…”

He stepped closer…“I love you Khushi…”

Her lips parted, but she couldn’t find her voice…

Standing this close she could hear the thundering of his heart….or was it hers…

“Khushi…”

Her eyes ascended to his…

He saw her deep in thought…”What are you thinking about…?”

“All I can think about is kissing you…” her words came out before she had a chance to stop them…

His arms held her closer as he pressed his mouth to hers…his tongue began a slow, languid assault within the velvet depths of her willing mouth.

They clung together, prolonging the exquisite torture until they were both limp with the effort of restraint.

Khushi leaned her forehead against his chest and closed her eyes.

“This was a mistake” she whispered…

Arnav rested his chin on top of her head and rocked her in his arms.

He heard her words….but he felt her true answer…

She stood quietly in his arms, memorizing the feel of him, storing the information away for the lonely hours and days and years that she spent without him.

For the first time in months, she couldn’t remember why she wasn’t with this man who was holding her so tenderly…










3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2012 2:59 pm

    loved the update buaji needs to give them a chance to sort their problem together loved the update very emotional loved it loved how her was so trying to erase the first mistakes her made well written emotional felt thanks for the pm

  2. May 15, 2012 8:14 pm

    he definitely deserved medals for this chivalry!!! love khushi in arnavs shirt :)))

  3. MIT permalink
    October 16, 2014 8:52 am

    nice update…

Leave a Reply

