Skip to content

SS : Yours Sincerely, Murder Part 5

May 24, 2012





“KHUSHI STOP!”

Arnav’s loud warning made her jump and drop the match on the floor…



As soon as it hit the floor, the flame dissipated…
Khushi looked up at Arnav absolutely speechless…

“What the hell are you doing?!” Arnav said charging towards her…

Her voice was shaking, as were her hands…”I…I was…the candle…then…it went out…and…I…”

The fear eminating from her hit him at warp speed…

He quickly walked to her and enveloped her in his protective embrace…

“I’m sorry…I’m sorry…” he kept repeating…

Khushi relaxed slightly and brought her hands up to clutch his shirt…”Arnavji?”

“SHhh…I’m sorry, I got another message and…God it scared me Khushi…”

Now regaining her attitude, she pushed at him and threw up her hands.

“Scared YOU!?! You make me crazy, Arnav Singh Raizada!!! I may not be the calmest or most focused person in the world,  but you…You are wrecking my concentration! You’re jealous and demanding and stubborn and  possessive and enraging and—don’t even think about it.” She put her hands out in front toward him off as he started moving toward her.

“We will not solve this problem with kissing!!”      

He didn’t listen and strode towards her….

She backed away and circled around the couch to put an object safely between them.

“Come here,” he commanded softly. “When you get into these emotional outbursts there’s only one way to reason with you.”      

“Don’t come near me.” She stumbled over the coffee table in a hasty retreat. “You can’t control me like you do your employees.”      

“If you were one of my employees you’d be fired for disobeying a direct order. I’m not trying to control you, Khushi,, I’m trying to protect you!!! Now stop moving away from me and come here.”     

With one swift lunge he tackled her down on the bed and pinned his body over hers.

He grasped both her wrists and held them above her head with one hand.

Her chest heaved and she let out a sigh.

She glared at him as his gaze roamed over her flushed features.

“I won’t let you seduce me,” she said stubbornly.

“Dammit woman, if I didn’t love you so much I’d put you over my knee instead of doing this!” His mouth took hers in a frustrated assault of emotion, hot and demanding.

She melted helplessly beneath him, her lips opening to the thrusting motion of his tongue against hers.

His hand released her wrists to hold her head still as he kissed her like a man possessed…

Heat exploded through her as she arched upwards.

His mouth moved down her neck, and the words he had spoken suddenly flashed through her mind.      

“Arnavji? What did you say?”     

“Forget anything I said.” His teeth bit at the sensitive curve behind her ear and a shudder ripped through her.
 
She fought the sensual lethargy that clouded her mind.

“No, you said something very important.”      

He stood over her sprawled body like a warrior with his captive.

“About putting you over my knee?” He started to unbutton his shirt… 

“No, before that.” Her eyes were helplessly drawn to the lean muscled strength of his chest.      

He placed one knee on the bed and leaned over her.

His thumb gently stroked her lips dragging across the tender flesh as she opened her mouth. Her teeth lightly scraped the pad of his thumb.

A low groan rumbled his chest. “I told you I loved you. But surely you knew that already.”

“You said you got another message…” she whispered.

Pulling her shoulders to sit up, he said, “Khushi…please let ME deal with all these threats…I don’t want you to worry…Please Khushi…Let ME worry about this!”

His pleading eyes tore at her heart…”For tonight…I won’t push it…but you can’t hide this from me…I trust you to protect me, but I need to trust you to be honest with me…”

“I will be honest…I won’t hide anything anymore…” Arnav lowered her back onto the bed…

She closed her eyes anticipating his kiss, but all she heard was a faint ‘ringing’ tone…

Peeking through her narrowed eyes, she saw that he was…on the phone…

Feeling Insulted, she tried to away from him…

He shot her a look of warning and she stilled…

“hello? yes, I want you to come out and check the place now…no one needs to know, just tell them you have a meeting with me…ok…bye…”

Khushi’s eyes shone with curiosity…

Arnav smiled through his nerves…”Extra precautions…”

She scowled at her husband…”Tell me please…”

He gently ran his fingers along her forehead, smoothing out her frown…”I called a friend from the Police force…He’s coming around now…”

“But why?!”

His eyes ignited as he remembered the email…

“Because…because the message said something about…about lighting a candle…” he tried to avoid the exact wording…”and that’s what you were doing…so I want him to make  sweep of the entire place for cameras, bugs…that sort of thing…”

Khushi nodded and buried her face in her husbands chest…

……………………..

It was approaching midnight…

Arnav’s detective friend had left…

The house was clear.

Arnav was told that it must have been a coincidence about the similarity in messages…

He also knew that his friend would be monitoring the emails and mail he received…

Moonlight beamed through the open window creating shadowy patterns against the sheets, throwing Khushi’s features into a hazy glow.   

Arnav stood beside the bed, watching her.

She slept with a deep peacefulness that made a smile touch his lips.

After all the distrust in the past…she now lay calmly on the bed, one hand tucked under her cheek, trusting that if he was there with her, she would be safe…

Her glorious hair fanned out over the pillow, and the rippling moonlight made the strands seem like a halo.

Being with Khushi softened something inside of him, soothed his emotions, made him want to give all of himself to another person and receive the same back.

She stirred and murmured in her sleep.

Arnav turned from the window…

He slipped under the covers, pulling her close to his body.

She snuggled against him immediately.

………………..

“I need at least 5 more! Yes you heard me! Thankyou…I’ll be there in an hour…” Khushi hung up the phone and stomped towards Arnav…

“Wow you’re gorgeous when you’re angry…” Arnav said leaning down to kiss her cheek as he struggled with his tie…

Khushi took over for him and smiled…”And you, my husband, are gorgeous all the time…”

They both walked down the stairs with hands entwined…

“Morning Di…” they both said at once…

Khushi quickly hid behind Arnav…

“Khushi!?” Arnav said feeling worried…

She peeked out at Anjali from behind him…”Where is he?” she whispered…

Anjali burst out laughing…”Abhaas has gone to daycare already…you won’t be attacked today…”

Hearing the word “attack” used in the same sentence as his wife’s name made him feel ill…

Khushi moved out from behind Arnav and went to hug Anjali…

“Is Nani home today? I was thinking of coming home early to spend some time with her…”

Their voices trailed off as Khushi and Anjali walked towards the kitchen…


Arnav settled himself at the table to eat breakfast…

Picking up his paper he began to read through it as he drank his coffee…

Anjali and Khushi were talking about giving a big ‘homecoming’ surprise to Akash and Payal when they arrived but their voices halted when they heard a loud smash…

Rushing out, they saw Arnav…

Standing over the table…

His coffee cup in shattered pieces…

All Arnav could do was stare viciously at the newspaper that was now covered with shards of glass…

As the coffee began to sink into the paper, the words that were written, with bright red pen, in the centre page of the newspaper, became muddled, but their terror rang inside his mind…

The puzzle is simple…
The need for Heat consumes me…
Heat is fire…
Heat is water…
Heat is electricity…
Heat is blood…
Heat is Khushi…

Yours Sincerely,
Murder…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2012 12:51 pm

    This is getting better, and better and better!!Can't wait for the next update!! 😀

  2. arnavangi permalink
    July 1, 2013 9:33 pm

    Is it Anjali by any chance?

Leave a Reply

