Skip to content

SS : Yours Sincerely, Murder Part 15

June 7, 2012







“You can take a shower here, if you want.”  The doctor said as he checked on Khushi’s vitals…

“Will you be in here with her?” Arnav said feeling nervous about leaving her alone…

“I will be if you like…I can see that you don’t want her alone…”

Arnav slowly stood up, his eyes still glued to her…

“Do tell me when you plan to go home, I’ll write you a prescription for your pain. Though I’d rather you not take the Percocet, painkillers, for at least another four hours if you can handle the pain. You’ve got a nasty concussion and your tox levels are still not as clear as I’d like them to be…”

Tears began to fill his eyes…”…My pain…MY…pain…? It’s not even worth a passing thought…I mean…Look at her…” his hand came up to touch her cheek…”She’s so beautiful…she wouldn’t hurt anyone…and yet…”

His cracked emotions began a torrential downpour….

The doctor came over to him…

“Please Sir, you need to be strong for her, she fought so bravely during surgery…and look at her…even though I thought she wouldn’t make it through the night, she is here…fighting…her heartbeat strong…her reflexes gripping onto you…”

Arnav took a deep breath…

“You two are such a strong force…and you can always try for a baby again, this type of injury will heal and there will be no troubles…”
Arnav’s head shot up and he grabbed the doctor’s arm as terror seized his entire body…”What did you say?”
The man’s face went pale…”You…you didn’t know?”

Arnav felt his muscles weaken…his mouth opened and he desperately sought air…

“She…she was…”

The doctor quickly helped Arnav to sit down…

“I’m so so so very sorry…There was nothing we could do…it took all our effort just to save her…”

Arnav barely heard anything more after that…he held Khushi’s hand with extreme care and cried bitterly…

The doctor couldn’t say anymore…he placed a hand on Arnav’s shoulder and let the broken emotions of the room take over…

After awhile, Arnav lifted his head and saw the doctor still standing beside him…

“Thankyou for saving Khushi…”

The doctor nodded…

“I love her more than anything in this world…I am just…just so thankful she’s alive and…”

He felt her fingers pull around his hand…

“Khushi…? She…” he turned quickly to the doctor…”She’s gripping my hand again…”

Soon he heard a choked sound come out of her..

“What’s going on!?” Arnav said fantically…
“Calm yourself, she’s trying to breathe but her body has just registerd all the tubes…she will calm in a moment, we can’t remove them because they are her only support right now…Talk to her…talk, she can hear you…”

Arnav instantly sat down and moved close…”Sweetheart I’m here…I’m right here…I know you feel strange, but just be calm…I won’t let anything happen to you…I swear on my life that I won’t…You’re safe…you are…I promise…”

“Good, her heartbeat is regulating…” the doctor said quietly…

“Just listen to my voice Khushi…I’m right here…And I love you…”


…………………..

The hospital noises were sharp and loud, yet distorted.

The harsh glare of florescent lights stabbed and prodded her headache, teased the nausea.

She tried to breathe, to make a sound, but there was something blocking her throat…

Even the small breaths that laboured through her nose stung her insides as her lungs expanded…her bruised insides pulled and moaned…

She couldn’t remember everything, and couldn’t fathom what had been done to her…

A Clicking noise.

She did remember that.

A violent shiver shook her.

Clicking.

The clicking.

A Gunshot…

That’s what the noise had been…and beeps.

Why was there beeping?

Bile rose again in her throat.

God, she was freezing.

The edges of her vision were still blurred.

It was like looking in a tunnel.

The wraps on her wrists mirrored the one on her right

Voices…

Did she remember voices?

Machines and trays clattering and clanging…

Shoes squeaking as people ran down a hallway…

Pictures and phrases danced chaotically through her mind.

She didn’t really remember anything…

Just terror.

And…

She listened…

A voice…

She could hear a voice…
















One Comment leave one →
  1. June 7, 2012 4:02 pm

    dammit she lost her baby realized it in the last update so sad awesome update well written

Leave a Reply

