Skip to content

FF : BREAKOUT Part 13

July 26, 2012

Khushi shivered as the Arnav ran his hands along her arms…
Khushi’s weary body was beginning to feel the shock of what had just happened…
Her neck throbbed  but the sting was almost dull compared to the tiny knives of agony shredding her nerves.
Her heart beat was out of control but she couldn’t move…
And the shivering wouldn’t stop…
When her eyes were open, the reality hit her…
But when she closed her eyes,  terror hit her…
She could see the shadow of Shyam bending over her…
She wasn’t  able to do anything…and THAT chilled her bone deep.
Blinking through tears, she opened her mouth and tried to speak but only a croak of nothingness escaped.
Arnav hated seeing the flashes in her eyes…
“Khushi…Sweetheart?…Hey…I’m here…”
Arnav…
Instantly, she tried to move her head to look at him, but the stinging stopped her…
Holding back his tears, he carefully slid one hand under head, then pushed his other arm beneath her back…
Very slowly, He lifted her …
 Shifting her with extreme care, their gazes finally locked…
 At once, her tears gushed out…
Unable to stop the cry that rose in his throat, he pulled her close to his chest as delicately as he could.
He murmured soothing words as he stroked her back.
 Sobs wracked her body and the more she tried to get herself under control the worse it was.
She was vaguely aware of him speaking, but his secure and safe hold on her was what she revelled in.
“Shhhh….Shhhh jaan…” hiss voice was cracking, his eyes filling with agony.
Fighting to breathe, she managed to whisper…”…Pl..please…hold…me…”
Despite the warmth from his body, she shivered uncontrollably.
Making sure he held her carefully, he moved himself to sit beside her on the bed…
He wrapped his arm around her, huddled close, and covered her with the blanket…
“I’m not letting go of you…I swear…I’m not leaving you…please rest…for me…for the babies…we’re here for you…shhh…”
She struggled to hold on to consciousness,  but a heavy wave of tiredness swept over her, tugging her under until she had no choice but to stop fighting it.
As she drifted to sleep, Arnav heard a soft knock on the door…
Seconds later he saw Anjali and Payal push a little crib into the room…
“Is she…?”
“sshhhh…She’s ok Payal…” Arnav whispered…
“The babies have been sleeping…they started to stir, but they actually settled each other…”
Arnav smiled sadly at his Di, “I know…they’re perfect together….”
“Chote…was it…?”
His sorrowful expression answered her question…
“How could he…After…Chote, just look after her…”
Payal was now crying…”How will she cope? After everything? Will she be …”
“She’ll be fine Payalji…” Anjali held Payal’s hand and stood strong…”She HAS been through a lot, but this is our Khushiji…She will be fine…”
Arnav’s gaze was still on his wife…”Can you both please just…I mean, I’m not angry…I just…”
Anjali stilled…”Ofcourse…Shall we take the little ones with us?”
Even though he wanted his children near him, his need to be with Khushi was a force to be reckoned with…
“Would you mind? Just for a little while? If they need her, or me, then bring them back, but I…I just need to…”
“We understand…” Payal smiled…
And they were alone again…
His fingers gently wiped the remnants of her tears…
She’d stopped crying but her grip was fastened tight…she refused to let go of him.
Arnav smiled…”You never let go of me…HOW could I let go of you?”
He concentrated on  the feel of her body in his strong arms, keeping her in a warm, tight embrace, the beat of her heartbeat and her familiar scent.
He knew he should talk to the police,  but Khushi came first, and she fell asleep feeling safe and secure and he was NOT going to jeopardize that.
 Just her being next to him,  grounded him and counteracted the raw panic threatening to burst through his heart.
He held her firmly, as she still trembled…
In her head she knew she was safe, but her body was having a hard time catching up.
“Khushi…” he pressed his lips to her temple and continued…”The babies are just…the most…beautiful…they’re perfect…Just like I can’t fully express how much I love you, I can’t express just how much I love them…You are all part of me…”
He kissed her hair…
“I still can’t believe that you pushed them both out of you! You’re so tiny!” his mouth twitched to a smile…
“You know, they were funny downstairs…” he paused not knowing what to call them…”Baby Girl started to cry, really loud by the way…and, uh, baby boy was quiet and…scowling…” he chuckled…”and trying to think like you, I put them both in the same crib…and you know what…they calmed each other…”
Arnav saw Khushi’s eye lids flicker…
His heart began to pump faster…”Khushi? Please wake up now…I…I just need to see you…I miss you…”
And her eyes slowly opened…
Arnav smiled through his tears…”Hi…Hi beautiful…”
His hand caressed her face, his arm pulled her more snugly against him…
Giving a small smile, she whispered…”Ar…Arnavji…”
…………………………
3 hours later…
Arnav had talked to Khushi, reassured her, comforted her, and finally she fell asleep again…
Her doctor had come back to check on her…
“She’s okay…Her throat is bruised, but not crushed…she’ll be okay…”
Arnav let out a shaky breath…
“Mr. Raizada, the police are here. They have been informed by your family and my staff of the details. We didn’t want to disturb you.”
“Thankyou Doctor…Really.”
“She is  very fragile though. She’s still losing blood, which is natural for post labour, but her strength will be lessened, and her emotions may be a bit out of control…”
“That’s nothing new…” Arnav smirked…
Once the doctor left, Khushi began to wake again…
Helping her to sit up, he focused on her intently…
“Hi…” she smiled
Arnav swiftly bent down and kissed her…
Probably a bit more forcefully than he should have, but Khushi didn’t mind…
“My God Khushi…Are you ok? Please tell me you’re okay!?”
Her shaking hand lifted to his face…”I’m okay…”
“Really?…..Cause I’M NOT!”
“Arnavji…was I scared? Yes. Am I scared now? No. You are here…I knew you would come…You always do…”
“I love you…I love you and I swear, NOTHING will ever happen to you!”
“Can I…”
Arnav interruped…”What? Anything!? Anything you want…just tell me…”
“Can I see our children now?”
Almost instantly, a little baby’s cry of hunger had Khushi’s breasts filling in automatic response.
Arnav reached for their daughter and lay her carefully across khushi’s chest…
“Shall I get the nurse for you?”
Khushi shook her head…”Let me try first…I have seen many women I know doing this…”
Kneading her breast with a tiny fist, the baby girl nuzzled and rooted as Khushi tried to lift her hospital gown…
Arnav helped her and eventually her heavy engorged breast fell free…
“Whoa…”
Khushi looked up…”What…”
Arnav licked his lips…”Uh…When she’s done, can I have a go?”
Khushi began to laugh but soon hissed in pain as the baby’s mouth finally found her sensitive nipple…
“Khushi??” Arnav began to panic…
“I’m okay…I’m okay…”…Khushi whispered, sucking in her breath as the baby latched on tight and began to suck…
Khushi smoothed her palm over the baby girl’s locks of short dark hair…
“Are you okay? Does it hurt?”
Khushi nodded…”It does, but I remember reading that it would hurt fo…OOOUCH!!!”
Arnav again jolted beside her, “Khushi…what?”
 
“Arnavji…I remember reading that it would hurt like small contractions…”
“Oh…” he began to worry…”and…and you’ve got two who want to feed…”
A quick glance to the cradle at her feet told her that this little boy wasn’t about to wake up for anything as mundane as eating.
No.
Their son slept quietly.
If he was anything like his father, he would probably save all his wakeful hours studying the complexity of his new world.
“I think that he is going to be a lot like you…”
Arnav made a funny face…”Oh gee, then we’re in for it aren’t we…”
Khushi smiled, “I don’t think of it that way…I mean look at how helpful he’s already been with his sister…He helped keep the peace…”
Arnav glanced back  to the baby girl…
She gurgled and plopped her fist against the soft swell of Khushis breast.
Khushi concentrated on the tiny tugging motions of the baby’s mouth…
That’s when Arnav leaned in to kiss Khushi’s cheek…”I love you…”
She saw love in his eyes, and felt the touch of his fingers to hers.
But  even moreso, she could feel him in her heart.
Rubbing a finger across the baby girl’s brow, Arnav watched his daughter’s hungry cheeks move in and out
“I can’t believe how tiny she is…” he whispered, measuring her width between his outstretched fingers.
Khushi smiled.
He looked up, and the barest of twinkles shimmered in his eyes, sparkling brighter when he dropped his gaze to her lips…
The kiss was slow…
Meaning to give and not take…
He poured his heart into kissing her…
Heady and dazed, She arched back, and the sudden movement jerked her nipple from the baby’s hold.
The baby girl whimpered, and Arnav, using his finger as a lead, guided her tiny mouth back to its source of nourishment.
His hand lingered, the backs of his fingers stroking across the swell of her blue-veined skin.
Khushi closed her eyes in contentment, but soon felt hot tears against her chest…
“What if I was too late?” His gaze roamed from her eyes to her breast and back.
The pain that she had undergone, he had faced too…
She brushed back his hair with her fingers…
“Arnavji…You’re never too late… I love you.”
His eyes filled with tears and he glanced away quickly.
Khushi’s gaze followed his as he looked down at the baby girl.
Dribbles of milk ran from the sleeping baby’s open mouth to her chin.
“I don’t know what I would have done wi…”
“Arnavji…”
“No, let me finish.”
He dabbed at his daughter’s chin with the pad of his thumb, rubbing the milky residue into his palm.
“I don’t know what I would have done without you Khushi…I mean…these babies are so loud! Have you heard them cry?!”
Khushi laughed as tears dripped over her lashes…
Smiling, Arnav went on…”Khushi…I WILL protect you, and I’ll be a damned good father to these two.”
Laying her fingers across his lips, Khushi silenced him…
“Arnavji?”
He took her fingers in his, kissing the tip of each one.
“I love you”
“I love you Khushi…You only. You first. You. Always and forever…and now these loud ones…”
Eyes closed, Arnav lowered his head, his lashes brushing butterfly kisses against her skin. He laid his face against the fullness of her breast and breathed deeply, his warm breath wafting across her milk-wet nipple.
When he opened his mouth, Khushi shuddered all the way to her soul.
His tongue traced the veins spidering across her skin from one slope to the other and down toward the dusky center.
He skipped over it, instead placing a feather-light kiss on his daughters head…
The baby wiggled…
“Can I hold my son?” Khushi asked softly…
Without answering, Arnav stood up and picked up the sleeping little boy…
As he passed him to Khushi, she passed the baby girl to Arnav…
“Wow…”
Arnav looked up…”Mmm?”
“He’s scowling and everything!”
Arnav smirked…”Well I’m sure he has a reason! He might miss his sister!”
Khushi placed a kiss on the baby’s forehead and he calmed and snuggled closer…
“Or he might just miss his mother…” Khushi said proudly…
Arnav’s eyes were fused to his daughter…”She’s exactly like you…”
“Oh really? How so?”
“I…when I look at her…It feels like when I first saw you…”
“And how did you feel? I thought you felt annoyed…angry…moody…”
Arnav shot a look at his wife and shook his head…”NO…You were and are the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen…but the second I saw you…I was enchanted…”
The baby girl started to squirm…
“Oh great, she SLEEPS like you do too…”
Grinning, he stood up, wrapped the baby carefully, and placed her back into the crib…
Reseating himself next to Khushi, they both looked down at their son…
“He’s gorgeous…”
Khushi scoffed…”You’re just saying that because I told you that he looks like you…”
Arnav kissed wrapped his arm around her and kissed her temple…
“I’m sorry I made your life so hard…”
Her eyes lifted to his…”What? Hard? Are you crazy? You have given me so much love…so much joy…so much happiness, and now these two beautiful children…”
“But…all the hardships, all the stress…”
 
“Arnavji…do you know how I feel when I’m with you…? At peace…I know that I’m safe with you…”
That’s when it both hit them…
They both spoke in unison…
Khushi said…”I know what to name our son”
Arnav said…”I know what to name our daughter”
…………………………..
Payal smiled as she passed the baby boy to Buaji, who inturn passed the baby girl over to Nani…
“So, are we going to keep calling these little angels ‘baby girl’ and ‘baby boy’ or are you actually going to name them?”
Khushi looked up to her Amma, “They will be named…Once Arnavji and I agree on a name…”
“Oh God!” Buaji groaned…”They will NEVER be named! When have you two EVER agreed on anything!”
Arnav smiled as his eyes locked with Khushi’s…”We agree on more than you’d think Buaji…”
Khushi’s mind wandered back to the previous night, when they’d finalized the babies’ birth certificates, with the babies’ official names…
“Well?” Anjali said…”When do you think we’ll know? Before they turn 5?”
“Oh no, by the time they turn 5 you’ll be guessing the names of our next child…” Arnav said firmly
Khushi turned so fast that she gasped in pain…
“Khushi” Garima rushed forwards….
Arnav was already at her side…”Gosh, can’t you be careful! You’re hurt, you have to take things…”
“I think it was what you said Damadji….”
Arnav looked up at Garima, who was trying to hold back a smile…
……………………………
Finally, everyone had gone home…
“When did we acquire so much family?” Arnav tried to say while yawning…
“I love it…I thought for some time that I would be without a family…but I love everyone so much…”
Looking down , Arnav saw his son sound asleep with his mouth wide open at Khushi’s breast…”Uh…I think he’s finished…”
As he leant down to pick up the baby, he paused…
Khushi looked up and he instantly sealed his lips to hers…
Slowly pulling away, they held each others gaze…
A small whimper broke their trance and Arnav grumbled…”interrupting mummy and daddy already?”
He wrapped the baby boy and placed him next to his sister…
Babies settled, he pulled out a folder and sat next to Khushi…
“You brought work here? WORK?”
He kissed her nose, and handed her the book…
As she opened she saw two beautiful official birth certificates…
Born to
Mother- Khushi Kumari Gupta Singh Raizada
Father – Arnav Singh Raizada
Male child-     Aarav Singh Raizada
Born to
Mother- Khushi Kumari Gupta Singh Raizada
Father – Arnav Singh Raizada
Female child-       Samaira Singh Raizada
” the name ‘Aarav’ for Peace…” Khushi said…
” the name ‘Samaira’ for Enchanting…” Arnav replied…










PRECAP-

Arnav tossed the suitcases into the front seat and leaned over to kiss the twins, and both gurgled in delight.
“Okay Chote, lets get you all home…”
Anjali sat with the twins while Arnav turned back to lift Khushi from the wheelchair.
“You know I’m able to walk Arnavji…”
“Shut up Khushi…I’ve already been through enough near-misses with you, I’m going to be your shadow for the foreseeable future…”
Khushi smiled…enjoying teasing him…
For the week that she’d been in hospital, Arnav had shown her just the kind of father he’d be…devoted.
He’d changed them, rocked them, burped them, paced the floor and crooned to Aarav, who’d been the only one to suffer colic.
He was an indestructible tower of patience, spending time with each of them equally…
And yet, still made time to show Khushi love unlike any she’d ever known.
Pulling her closer to his chest, Arnav started towards the car when his footsteps halted…








A Huge THANKYOU to Three incredible friends of mine!

Firstlyshehreen97 … Honey, You are a gem! Thankyou for pushing, nagging, annoying, and badgering me to keep writing this story! And thank you for your constant encouragement!!! AND Thankyou for NAMING THE BABIES!!!!!!!

Secondly,  indy12 … ThankYOU for being an ever brilliant Twitter Friend, AND for also naming the Boy baby!





5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2012 8:33 am

    awesome loved it beautifully done loved the names awesome update loved how he comforted her

  2. July 27, 2012 12:47 am

    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww I just loved the way the named their children

  3. July 27, 2012 3:16 am

    amazing as usualits wonderful seeing ASR in the role of the doting father but equally mesmerising to see him as the passionate/protective/POSSESSIVE partner to Khushi.looking forward to reading more of ur masterpieces!!!

  4. July 27, 2012 6:54 am

    wow so cute they way he has finally open upto Kushi abt his feelings for herfab update undercoverhappy

  5. October 28, 2012 12:22 pm

    Awesome! beautiful. khushi delivered twins, OMG!! and Arnav is the loving father already.Arav is the name of the lil kid shown in the current track. Only , i hope he s nor ASR's son.

Leave a Reply

