Skip to content

SS : Memories Part 8

November 5, 2012

Watching the Khushi he DIDN’T remember falling into his arms had been enough to shake his heart…
But watching the Khushi that his entire mind, body and soul remembered was completely crippling…
“Khushi?…Kh…”
He lifted her in his arms and lay her delicately down on the bed…
As he tried to sit upright, he was held back…
Her hand…her fingers were clinging tightly to his shirt…
But looking at her face, he saw her still unconscious…
Arnav moved back over her, allowing her to hold his shirt.
“Khushi…All I want is for you to remember me…”
His hand smoothed over her cheek…
“I remembered you so fast…probably because I had been searching for you…”
Arnav took advantage of the moment and gently touched his lips to hers…
“I know you’re afraid of losing what you have been holding onto…but in order for you to remember ME, you need to lose that memory! You need to forget the love you lost! Once you have, you will remember me, and realize that my love has been here all along…”
He saw her body relax and her hold on his shirt began to loosen…
Kissing her fingertips, he laid her hand on the bed…
Once he stood up, he surveyed the mess of papers…
“I shouldn’t have given her so much…” he began to lift some files…”All of this is old and out of date…it should just be thrown away…” turning back, he grinned…”but then you’ve never backed out on anything, have you jaan?”
He wanted to wake her and make her finish, but as she lay sleeping so peacefully, his compassion kicked in…
Picking up all the files himself, he lifted the two heavy boxes and took them to HP to dispose of.
……….
Anjali and Payal had decided to stay out of the ‘drama’ for the night and sit and eat dinner together…
But their conversations stopped as they saw Arnav carrying the boxes of paperwork towards the kitchen…
Their mouths were still open as he wandered back to the dining room…
“Chote?”
Arnav looked up…”Oh, I realized that all those accounts were suspended and the files out of date…”
Anjali grumbled as Payal began to laugh…
“Why are you laughing?!” Anjali said feeling astounded…
“Because I forgot how well he knows Khushi…”
Arnav smirked…
Anjali was remembering…”Chote, I know you have the upper hand by having your memory back, but please don’t torment her!”
………..
As Khushi began to wake up, she pulled her fingers into a fist…
Nothing was there…
“But, I was holding onto…”
Instantly her eyes popped open and she sat up fast…”Arnavji?!”
Her hair flew around her shoulders as she searched around the room…
Standing up fast, her heart was thudding mercilessly…”What…what am I even looking for!!!”
At that moment, Payal walked in…
“Looking for? Maybe the stacks of paper that you were supposed to finish?”
Khushi merely stared at her sister…
Payal walked up closer, “Don’t worry, Arnavji took the boxes away…you don’t need to finish…”
 
“Arnavji?”
They both went still…
Payal held Khushi’s cheek as she stared into her glazed eyes…”Khushi?”
“Arnavji was in here…”
Never before had Payal seen such fierce flames in Khushi’s eyes…
“He…He was here and he…He asked me to look in his eyes…and…”
She paused…
“AND?” Payal said cupping her face tighter, effectively breaking Khushi’s train of thought…
“And…and he…he is…” her voice began shaking…”No…No…”
Khushi pulled herself away from her sister…”Jiji, we have to leave from here…We HAVE to…I’m…I’m starting to…”
“To what?”
Payal could see it.
She could see it plainly.
“Khushi, have you remembered something??”
As tears began to fill her confused eyes, she finally whispered…”I’m starting to have…have flashbacks…”
Hearing her answer, Payal instantly pulled Khushi into her arms…”Oh my God! Oh God! I am so…I’m just so happy! It’s been so long Khushi!”
Khushi wringed her finger in her ear at Payal’s highpitched scream…
“Jiji!”
Hauling Khushi by her shoulders, Payal sat her down on the bed…”What…tell me what!”
“…What?”
“WHAT DO YOU REMEMBER!?”
Khushi’s body twitched…”The noise! Keep your voice to a dull roar PLEASE!”
Payal laughed heartily and sat beside her sister…”Ok…ok. Can you tell me? Please?”
As Khushi began speaking, Payal began weeping for joy…
“…and I remember what he was like…I remember his eyes…the way that I can SEE what he’s thinking…The way he cared for me…stood up for me…loved me…”
When Khushi finally stopped, Payal leaped up from the bed jumping around and cheering…”We HAVE to go and tell him! Come on! I can’t believe this! We have to tell him!”
Payal took Khushi’s hand and tried to haul her downstairs, but her joyful expression disappeared seeing Khushi lurch back…
“Khushi?”
“How can you say that Jiji!?”
“How can I?…What do you mean? You do WANT to tell him don’t you?”
As Khushi blinked tears down her face, she replied…”How CAN I…He’s dead…remember?”
………
“I KNOW that I’m getting through to her Di…I can feel it…”
Anjali smiled…”I pray that you are…because…” her eyes roamed over his face…”because look how happy you are! I’ve been earnestly hoping that your memory WOULDN’T return…”
Coughing on his drink, Arnav’s eyes shot up at his sister…”What!?”
“I didn’t want you to remember all the love you had for her…only to realize that she was still gone…but now, now you remember her…AND she is here!”
“I know…NOW I understand your reaction to when you saw her…” Arnav grinned…”You looked like you’d seen a ghost!”
“I thought I WAS seeing a ghost Chote!”
Anjali watched as his eyes became stormy…”Chote, I know what you’re thinking…”
“I will find him…” he growled…”That BASTARD separated us! We had that accident TOGETHER! And yet we woke up in separate hospitals! Both with the same injury! What are the fucking odds!!!”
“Keep your voice down!”
“I just…” he slammed his eyes shut…”I just HATE that, ALL this time, I could have…WE could have…”
Anjali stood up and hugged him…”I know Chote…but now…NOW you have that chance…I know you won’t let her go…”
………..
“Khushi?…what…”
“You KNOW that he died in the accident…Just because I am beginning to remember him doesn’t mean that you can make crass jokes!”
Shaking her head, Payal moved towards her…”No Khushi, I wasn’t making…”
“I was afraid that I was forgetting him…but when I looked into…into…his…his eyes…”
Shock barrelled through her heart…
Her nerves sent twinges of shock throughout her entire body…
“No…how dare he! How DARE he invade my head like this!?!”
Payal was frozen to where she stood.
“He comes so close to me…kisses me…tries to make me forget…and yet HE makes me remember! No…he will NOT take my love’s place, I don’t CARE if they have the same name!”
And at that, Khushi spun around and marched into the bathroom, slamming the door…
Payal was in just as much shock as her sister…
With light steps, she turned and slowly walked back downstairs…
………………
“Let her go!? No bloody way…she is mine…and she isn’t going ANYWHERE until she remembers me!”
Anjali ruffled Arnav’s hair and sat back down beside him…
As she did, she looked up and saw Payal approaching them…
“Hi, was Khushiji alright?”
Payal didn’t say a word.
She walked over to the table, sat down and simply stared into space.
“Payalji?”
Arnav started to get concerned…”Hey! Is she ok? What’s wrong?”
“She…she’s beginning to remember the past…”
Arnav instantaneously jumped up out of his chair….”WOOOOOHOOOO! I knew it! I KNEW IT! I could SEE her remembering me! I could see it!!!!!”
“…no…”
Arnav stilled…”what? What do you mean ‘no’?”
“Payalji…Please try to focus…Please…what’s going on?”
“Khushi is remembering Arnavji…” her eyes lifted to Arnav’s…”but she doesn’t know that it’s you…she think’s you are taking his place…and she is furious…she hasn’t made the connection that Arnavji from her past, is actually…you…”
As both women stared at Arnav, they thought he would begin to get disheartened…
But instead, they saw a smile twist at his lips…
“She has remembered me! I don’t care whether it was me from now, or me from 10 years ago!”
He rushed forwards and stood between Anjali and Payal…”And…If she is remembering one…she will soom realize the other…and I will be right there when she does…”
………..
“I’m going shopping…” payal responded casually…
“Then can I go with you? I will walk the rest of the way to work…”
“Khushi, Arnavji takes you every day…”
“NO! I am going to steer clear of him…or try to anyway…”
Payal rolled her eyes…”Fine…are you ready to go now?”
15 Minutes later, Arnav found out that Khushi had gone to work, travelling with Payal.
“She’s going to avoid me!?”
Anjali smirked…”Khushiji has always been very…”
“Stubborn, hardheaded, unreasonable, ridiculous!”
“I was going to say strong-willed…”
“I KNOW what she is like…and there is no way I will be letting her escape me…” his eyes flashed…”EVER!”
…………..
Khushi had been quite successful in avoiding him most of the morning…
The office staff had also been leaving her alone…
When the first morning break arrived she quickly went to get a coffee and hurried back to her desk…
But as she did, she thought…”I don’t want to be alone at my desk, where HE might come over to me…”
Decided, she spun around…
Her sudden reverse in direction took at least one person by surprise: Arnav.
She barrelled into him.
Arnav couldn’t reverse in time as Khushi’s hand shook from the collision, and she watched in horror as her coffee splashed across his shirt.
It was like watching a train wreck.
Her hand flew to her mouth as her nerves began to tighten in fear… 
His staff had already begun pouring back into the main office and were standing back, trying to avoid any of his fury that may spark onto them…
But Arnav simply looked at her…
Hher mouth hung open, aghast.
All she could think to do was start apologizing.
A litany of stuttering apologies spilled from her lips…”I…I’m…I’m sorry, I didn’t see you…I…”
Khushi lifted her dupatta and started to try to wipe the coffee off of his shirt.
Expensive fabric that she’d now ruined.
Once a cornflower blue, now happily speckled with brown.
As she tried to mop up the coffee on his shirt, she became aware of the muscles underneath it.
Her ministrations slowed down and her eyes lifted to his…
Before she could surey the look in his eyes, he grabbed her hand and began dragging her up to his office…
Once inside, he pulled her in, letting go of her hand…
She stumbled to gain her balance as Arnav drew all the blinds, blocking all the onlookers…
In fear, she began looking for an escape…
“No. You’re not leaving this room Miss Gupta.”
Hearing his tone, her hands came up to her hips…”Look, I apologized, but it was JUST as much your fault as it was mine!”
Stepping forward one calculated step, he almost burst out laughing…”MY fault!? YOU spilted coffee all over ME if I recall correctly!”
“You could have moved! You could have stepped aside! What were you even doing walking so close to me!”
Prowling towards her, she began to retreat backwards…”I like being close to you…”
Her jaw dropped open…”Wh…what…what are you saying? Wh…”
Her voice halted as her back hit the wall…yet again…
Now that he’d managed to get her full attention,  he very calmly unbuttoned his shirt and pulled it off.
Khushi just stood with her mouth open, unable to tear her eyes away from his body…
He looked on in amusement at her body’s natural reaction…
“uh…I…” her strangled voice shattered his last attempt at restraint…
He put his hands behind her head, weaving them into her supple strand, and leaned down to kiss her.
Khushi had barely registered her own movements, let alone his…
His lips were warm, soft.
Her core melted, knees becoming unstable.
Khushi was so surprised by the kiss that she didn’t really return it…
When their lips parted, Arnav ran his palms down her arms, holding her hands…
He brought her hand to his heart and leaned back in for another kiss.
Electricity pulsed through her hand as she felt her skin again his torso, feeling the sleek muscles of his chest.
When Khushi felt his mouth leave hers, her eyes opened slowly and she saw him step back slightly…
Her hand was still resting on his chest as her shaky voice said…“I can’t believe that you did that again…”
“I can’t believe that you spilled your coffee on me…”
Arnav ran a hand through his hair and Khushi felt my stomach flip.
“Sorry…” she whispered in a rush…”What can I do? Wash your shirt? Apologize to you in front of everyone?”
“How about letting me kiss you?” he replied, that mischievous grin still tickling the corners of his mouth.
Her indignation surfaced again…“I think you already claimed your compensation, then…”
Arnav let out a long breath…”Well, I need to get changed,” he said as he pulled a sports shirt out of his desk drawer…
He lifted his arms as he pulled it over his head, and again her eyes were attached to the muscles of his chest…
His smiled seeing where her gaze was…”That’s right sweetheart…Take a look…Cause it’s all yours…”
Tossing his stained shirt into the bin, he turned back to her…”So…”
“I am genuinely sorry about your shirt…” she said for the umpteenth time. “
Stalking forwards once again, she tried to move back, only to find that she was still up against the wall…
“Look, back off Mr. Raizada…I’m not interested in being one of your playthings here at your office…So stop…”
He put a finger up against her lips.
It would have been insulting if she hadn’t found it completely sexy.
Every instinct in her screamed to push him away…
But there was one more scream that had progressively been getting stronger since the first moment she saw him…
The scream to try and find herself in his eyes…
4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2012 10:21 am

    I m loving this story..Its just so perfect..Reminds me of the old IPK..Beautifully written sarah! :)Plz update soon !

  2. November 5, 2012 11:39 pm

    just like the good old days of IPKKND but with the xtra sweet dollop of ur writing

  3. November 6, 2012 5:35 am

    Every time I read one of these updates I get this gidding feeling in the pit of my stomach…I love this SS…a whole different concept with ah-mazing writing!

  4. November 6, 2012 7:28 am

    Loving this SS. As the others say, it brings back the feel of the old IPK.

Leave a Reply

